top of page

The Struggles of Being A Part of Society

Rita


She/Her

Them/They

He/Him.


Fat/Skinny

Tall/Short

Ugly/Pretty


In this society we are categorized by our appearance,

Our gender,

Our beliefs.


In this society we are told we are too large,

Too small,

Too tall

Too short.


We are either shamed for being “ugly”

Or people make assumptions about us if we are “pretty”.


We are like dogs chasing our tails,

Over and over again,

Not realizing we can never chase down our unrealistic standards.



The media brainwashed us into believing we aren't good enough,

That we need to change

In order to fit in and be “acceptable”.


It makes us believe we need to look a certain way--

Be as skinny as toothpicks,

Have skin as soft as a baby’s


It makes us believe we need to act a certain way--

Be smart

But not too nerdy

Be nice

But not too social.


And so we do change,

We change because that is what we are told to do.

We change because we don’t want to be judged.


I go on my phone,

Social media tells me how to dress,

It tells me that I need to change.


I go hang out with my friends,

I see them do things and feel obligated to do them too.


Sometimes I feel like I'm not good enough,

Other times I’m done being a hopeless puppy chasing around these unrealistic standards.

There's always a tornado of thoughts running through my head.


But at the end of the day,

I do change.

I change to fit in,

To feel loved,

To feel like I'm enough.



But let me ask you now:

When will I ever be enough?l?


bottom of page