top of page

When I Met the Bird

Olivia


When I met the bird, I asked

How does it feel to fly in the enormous sky?

The bird said,

It’s like sleeping in the clouds, listening to a beautiful lullaby.


When I met the bird, I asked again

How does it feel to discover a new place, full of delicious food?

The bird replied,

It’s like every single cell in my body wakes up fresh, and I am in the best mood.


When I met the bird, I asked at last

How does it feel, trying to jump off a cliff alone for the first time?

The bird answered,

It’s like feeling the wind blowing my feathers, my eyes glowing with sunshine

and the scent of morning air tickling my nose.


Before I walked away, the bird called out

Wait, what is your life like?

I turned around and faced the bird, smiling.

It’s like opening my mind to every book I discover.

It’s like a star lightening up inside me as I talk and listen to people of different color.

It’s like a sponge in my brain is absorbing all of the ideas around me as they uncover.


I might not be able to fly with your wings,

but I can imagine and dream of the sky.

I might not be able to hunt for food with sharp eyesight,

but I can dig into thousands of questions with my curiosity.

I might not be able to soar into the air to nowhere,

but I can swim in a lake of knowledge.


You know, I feel just like you!


bottom of page