top of page

Music In My Life

Cale


Black and White, Big and Small, Hammers Through the Ivory

Heartfelt notes, fill the evening journey


Strike the chord, let it sing, let it ring, Hold the Sustain

It takes me through the rough patch of rain


The weighted keys, express the pain, breaking through the dawn

Dew covers the early morning lawn


My fingers play a jazzy tune, filling me with life

The song is happy, without strife


A twist, a turn, the sad song rings, through the day it sings

The black and white, hammers through the strings


Fifteen minutes to the hour, Practice through the time

Pacing the metronome's ticking line


Black and White, Big and Small, Hammers Ring through my Body

Heartfelt notes, fill my musical mind


Practice the notes, read the music, dance across the keys

Play the music as it fills up me


Heartfelt notes, Black and White, Hammers through the Ivory

I love music, and music loves me


Let it fill my heart and mind

Let it fill my heart and mind.



The style of this poem is a "Landay" poem, structured with specific amounts of syllables (13 in line one with 9 in line two). It is a style of poem meant to be recited as a song.




bottom of page