top of page

Why?

Iris


No one asked

Who cares

You’ve got two ears and one mouth for a reason

Just shut up

Just grow up

Just cover up

Just lose some weight

Just look more natural

You're ugly without makeup

Just don't talk too loud

Just stop laughing

Geez why are you so uptight

Just smile more

Just stop faking so much

How many 'justs' till it's no longer an only

How many more days weeks months years until I break under the pressure

From every side the walls caving in on me under the weight of

Expectation until I fall and hug my knees and turn into a ball a marble a grain of sand

In the middle of the ocean getting tossed and turned by the waves of the voices

Louder and louder and louder and louder and louder and louder

Until

Silence

Screaming whispering silence

A noise so loud it can’t be heard

A million points made without a word

Now come back out to the real world

Of traffic and wind and fans and ringing phones and alarms and talking and screaming

And screaming and screaming and screaming and screaming

A million voices screaming at you to change be better

How many more till I fall down

Will this be the straw to break the camel's back

The step across the line

The final bell

The end

But I pick up my foot and set it down and keep my eyes on the road

And listen to the voices

And do what they want

As best as I can

Because if I figure out this puzzle

Then I will be

Perfect

An unachievable un-existent constant

A goal moving farther away the faster you run towards it

The nonexistent boundaries of perfection being redefined by the second

As every living thing tries to reach this invisible infinity

This never ending oblivion

So when I become perfect

There will be no more shouted out demands

No more questions

No more justs

Until a second later

When one person changes their mind

And decides I’m no longer

Perfect

Well guess what?

You're perfect just the way you are

Says the voice that was just telling you to fix everything about you

Be yourself, make your own decisions

They scream

But their whispers about every word you speak will flood your brain

Until you're drowning, gasping for breath

Have your own opinions, don’t let anyone change what you think

But they’ll judge every thought that passes through your mind

Until you just

Stop

Thinking

At all

So that the biggest question

The constantly avoided inevitable

Will never be answered since it's never been asked

The forbidden thought of

Why?

bottom of page