top of page

A Brush With Fire

Gary




I was coming home from school and I was exhausted. I just finished my after school activity, chess. It was pitch black outside, and the only reason I could see was because of the lamps. It was freezing, my teeth were chattering, I had goose bumps on my arms and legs, and I was shaking and shivering. All my classmates were already leaving and I could not see my dad in the huge crowd of parents and small children. Finally, I realized he was right in front of me. Then we noticed each other and went home.


As soon as we got in the house my mom asked with so much happiness and delight in her voice, “Hola, como te fue en la escuela?” [Hi, how was school?]


I answered, “It went amazing,” as I was running to give her a hug. Then, I put my stuff away and asked both of them, “C-Can we have a f-f-fire?”


She answered, “Of course, I was about to ask your dad.” My dad and I got the wood and we lit the fire.


Then, I went straight to the fire and opened my arms, put my back to the fire, and it felt delightful. My back felt as warm as the hot sand on the beach. After that, I swapped from warming up my back to warming up my front side but I forgot to close my arms and my wrist touched the glass and I burned it. It hurt so much I nearly screamed, but I held it in and instead said, “OW, OW, OW, OW, OW!”


My mom quickly asked with a bit of concern in her voice, “Gary estas okay?”[Gary are you okay?].


I said with so much pain and with a little exaggeration, “I just burned my wrist.”


My mom told me to get the cream. I did, and even though it hurt like my hand just got chopped off, and when she put it on it felt like someone put salt and lemon on it but I let her put it on. Then, surprisingly, it did not hurt any more. After we ate dinner my mom asked if it was okay and I simply nodded my head. Afterwards I went to brush my teeth. After I got out of the bathroom, I went to my bed and she tucked me in and I went right to sleep.


bottom of page